Happy Easter!

We have been happily staying in Chattanooga’s StoneFort Inn. This lovely, elegant hotel is also a property of Delta Queen Hotel partner Sydney Slome. He and his gracious staff at the hotel have made us feel so welcome in Chattanooga. The hotel is truly spectacular. Large, wonderful rooms and blessedly healing large jucuzzi tubs. If you’re planning a trip to visit and stay aboard the DQ then I recommend you extend your trip and include a stay and the StoneFort Inn.

Almost all the staff is off today. No tours. We went over to the boat for a while and walking through was very eerie. It’s way too quiet. I miss all the passengers drifting around and stopping to visit. I really miss the crew. The energy, vitality and shared experience of a group who loved the boat, the river and took pride in tending the flame of a flickering piece of American history. I miss Lloyd’s positive energy. I miss Jonena’s lovely smile. I miss Anne-Marie’s joviality. I miss Maurice, who to me was always the epitomy or the Delta Queen experience. To all the crew scattered around the nation – We Miss You so very much!

